Esther G. Maynor Honors College

University Honors Council

The University Honors Council is the primary advisory board to the Maynor Honors College. Comprised of honors faculty serving three year terms, the UHC plays a central role in honors admission and scholarship decisions. In its oversight capacity, it also monitors curricular and cocurricular components of the Honors College.

Robert Brown

Chair, University Honors Council

Department of History

A.B., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., Marshall University; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University

Phone: 910.521.6438

Siva Mandjiny

Professor and Chair
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.Tech., University of Madras, M.Tech., I.I.T., New Delhi, M.Eng., University of Toronto, Ph.D., Universitie de Technologie de Compiegne
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006
Honors Courses: Contemporary Issues in Science and Technology 

Phone: 910.521.6608
Terms of Service: 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19

E. Cliff Mensah

Associate Professor
Department of Economics and Decision Sciences

B.Sc., University of Ghana--Legon; Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Honors Courses: Contemporary Public Issues and Economics

Phone: 910-522.5713
Terms of Service: 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19

Teagan Decker

Assistant Dean, Esther G. Maynor Honors College
Associate Professor

Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., M.A., Humboldt State University; Ph.D., University of Washington 
Honors Courses: Composition

Phone: 910.521.6437
Terms of Service: 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19

Scott Hicks

Associate Professor

Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages
B.A., UNC Chapel Hill, M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Phone: 910.775.4032

E. Brooke Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

B.A. University of Florida; 
M.A and  Ph.D., Michigan State University

Phone: 910.775.4038
Terms of Service: 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17

Kelly Charlton

Associate Professor and Department Chair
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award

Phone: 910.521.6459
Terms of Service: 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18