Esther G. Maynor Honors College

Faculty

Honors Faculty:

Andy Ash

Andy Ash

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., Virginia Military Institute, M.S., North Carolina State University, Ph.D., University of Toronto
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2000

Email: andy.ash@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6418

Charles Beem

Charles Beem

Associate Professor
Department of History

B.A., California State University, Northridge; M.A., Northern Arizona University; Ph.D., University of Arizona

Email: charles.beem@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6229

Scott Billingsley

Associate Professor
Department of History

Ph.D., Auburn University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2007

Email: scott.billingsley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6807

Steve Bourquin

Steve Bourquin

Professor and Chair 

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

B.S.E.E., M.S., Ph.D., Ohio University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006, 2011

Email: steven.bourquin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6517

Dr. Braun

M. J. Braun

Assistant Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.S., University of Texas at Austin; M.A., University of New Orleans; Ph.D., University of Arizona

Email: mary.braun@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6814 

Dr. Monika Brown

Monika Brown

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., University of Georgia; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2005 

Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6257

Robert Brown

Robert Brown

Professor and Chair
Department of History

A.B., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., Marshall University; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2003 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2006

Email: robert.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6438

Susan Cannata

Susan Cannata

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.L.S., M.A., Boston University; Ph.D., University of New Mexico
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2009

Email: cannata@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6806

Kelly CharltonKelly Charlton

Associate Professor and Department Chair
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award

Email: kelly.charlton@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6459

Dr. Decker

Teagan Decker

Associate Professor and Director of the University Writing Center
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., M.A., Humboldt State University; Ph.D., University of Washington

Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6437

Dr. Farley

Martin Farley

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Geology and Geography

B.S., Pennsylvania State University; M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: martin.farley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6478

Paul Flowers

Paul A. Flowers

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.A. St. Andrews Presbyterian College; Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2002

Email: paul.flowers@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6424

Jeff Frederick

Jeff Frederick

Associate Professor
Department of History

B.S.B.A. Univeristy of Central Florida; M.A., Univeristy of Central Florida; Ph.D., Auburn University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004

Email: jeff.frederick@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6439

Jeffery Geller

Jeffery Geller

Professor 
Department of Philosophy and Religion

B.A., California State University Northridge; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2003

Email: jeffery.geller@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6460

Dr. Guynn

Anita Guynn

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., M.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6880

Dr. Haladay

Jane Haladay

Associate Professor
Department of American Indian Studies

B.A. University of California at Santa Barbara; M.A. University of Arizona; Ph.D. University of California, Davis
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2011

Email: haladayj@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.521.6485

Scott Hicks

Scott Hicks

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., UNC Chapel Hill, M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2010

Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4032

Len Holmes

Len Holmes

Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.S., Westfield State College; Ph.D., Utah State University

Email: lholmes@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6650

Melanie Hoy

Melanie Hoy

Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology 

B.A., State University of New York; M.S.W., Syracuse University; M.A., Duke University; Ph.D., Duke University

Email: melanie.hoy@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4359

Bonnie Kelley

Bonnie Kelley

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., North Georgia College; M.Ed., Ph.D., University of Georgia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1992 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 1995

Email: bonnie.kelley@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.521.6419

Dr. Brooke KellyE. Brooke Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

B.A., University of Florida; M.A and Ph.D., Michigan State University

Phone: 910.775.4038
Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu 

Lisa Kelly

Lisa Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., Central Arkansas University, M.S., Vanderbilt University, Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: lisa.kelly@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6377

Dr. Labadie

John Labadie

Professor
Department of Art 

B.A., University of Dayton; M.A., Wright State University; Ed.D., University of  Cincinnati

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003
Dial Award for Research and Creativity: 2009 

Email: john.labadie@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6618

Tulla Lightfoot

Tulla Lightfoot

Professor and
Coordinator of Undergraduate Art Education
Department of Art

B.A., University of Connecticut, M.F.A., Instituto Allende, M.Ed., Ed.D., Teachers College Columbia University

Email: tulla.lightfoot@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5792

 

Dr. MandjinySiva Mandjiny

Professor and Chair 
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.Tech., University of Madras, M.Tech., I.I.T., New Delhi, M.Eng., University of Toronto, Ph.D., Universitie de Technologie de Compiegne
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006

Email: siva.mandjiny@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6608

Dr. Marquard

David Marquard

Assistant Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno

Email: david.marquard@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6429

Ramin Maysami

Ramin Maysami

Dean and Professor 
School of Business

B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Iowa State University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2009

Email: ramin.maysami@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5707

Cliff Mensah

Cliff Mensah

Associate Professor and Chair 
Department of Economics and Finance

B.S., University of Ghana--Legon; Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: edwin.mensah@uncp.edu
Phone: 910-522.5713 

Mark Milewicz

Mark Milewicz

Dean of Maynor Honors College and Professor
Department of Political Science

B.A., Jacksonville State University; M.A., Ph.D., The University of Alabama 

Email: mark.milewicz@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6630

Dr. Normandy

Liz Normandy

Associate Vice Chancellor of Planning and Accreditation and Professor
Academic Affairs

B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., American University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1996 

Email: elizabeth.normandy@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6611

Mario Paparozzi

Mario Paparozzi

Professor and Chair
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

B.A., Kean College of New Jersey; M.A., Montclair State University; Ph.D., Rutgers University

Email: mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5783

Jesse Peters

Jesse Peters

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages and Department of American Indian Studies 

B.A., Emory University; M.A., Ph.D., University of New Mexico 

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003

Email: peters@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6635

Dr. Powell

Rasby Marlene Powell

Professor
Co-director of the Interdisciplinary Gender Minor

A.A., Santa Fe Community College; B.A., University of Florida; M.S., Ph.D, Florida State University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1999 and 2013

Email: rasby.powell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6477

Tim Ritter

Timothy M. Ritter

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 & 2009
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2013

Email: tim.ritter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6320

Dr Marilu Santos

Dr. Marilu Santos

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of the Philippines

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2002 & 2012

Email: marilu.santos@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6420

Dr. Stremlau

Rose Stremlau

Associate Professor
Department of History

B.A., University of Illinois; M.A., Ph. D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2009

Email: stremlau@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6317