Esther G. Maynor Honors College

Faculty

Honors Faculty:

Andy Ash

Andy Ash

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., Virginia Military Institute, M.S., North Carolina State University, Ph.D., University of Toronto
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2000

Email: andy.ash@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6418

Charles Beem

Charles Beem

Associate Professor
Department of History

B.A., California State University, Northridge; M.A., Northern Arizona University; Ph.D., University of Arizona

Email: charles.beem@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6229

Scott Billingsley

Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor

Department of History

Ph.D., Auburn University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2007

Email: scott.billingsley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6807

Steve Bourquin

Steve Bourquin

Professor and Chair 

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

B.S.E.E., M.S., Ph.D., Ohio University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006, 2011

Email: steven.bourquin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6517

Dr. Monika Brown

Monika Brown

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., University of Georgia; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2005 

Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6257

Robert Brown

Robert Brown

Professor
Department of History

A.B., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., Marshall University; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2003 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2006

Email: robert.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6438

 Susan Cannata

Susan Cannata

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.L.S., M.A., Boston University; Ph.D., University of New Mexico
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2009

Email: cannata@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6806

Dr. Kelly Charlton

Kelly Charlton

Associate Professor and Department Chair
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award

Email: kelly.charlton@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6459

 Dr. Decker

Teagan Decker

Assistant Dean, Esther G. Maynor Honors College
Associate Professor of English

B.A., M.A., Humboldt State University; Ph.D., University of Washington

Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6437

 Dr. Farley

Martin Farley

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Geology and Geography

B.S., Pennsylvania State University; M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: martin.farley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6478

 Paul Flowers

Paul A. Flowers

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.A. St. Andrews Presbyterian College; Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2002

Email: paul.flowers@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6424

 Jeff Frederick

Jeff Frederick

Professor and Chair
Department of History

B.S.B.A. Univeristy of Central Florida; M.A., Univeristy of Central Florida; Ph.D., Auburn University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004

Email: jeff.frederick@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6439

 Dr. Lydia Gan

Lydia Gan

Professor and Chair
Department of Economics and Decision Sciences

B.A., M.S. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale; Ph.D., University of Texas


Email: lydia.gan@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4265

 Jeffery Geller

Jeffery Geller

Professor 
Department of Philosophy and Religion

B.A., California State University Northridge; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2003

Email: jeffery.geller@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6460

 Dr. Guynn

Anita Guynn

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., M.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6880

 Dr. Haladay

Jane Haladay

Associate Professor
Department of American Indian Studies

B.A. University of California at Santa Barbara; M.A. University of Arizona; Ph.D. University of California, Davis
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2011

Email: haladayj@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.521.6485

 Scott Hicks

Scott Hicks

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

B.A., UNC Chapel Hill, M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2010

Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4032

 Len Holmes

Len Holmes

Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.S., Westfield State College; Ph.D., Utah State University

Email: lholmes@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6650

 Bonnie Kelley

Bonnie Kelley

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., North Georgia College; M.Ed., Ph.D., University of Georgia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1992 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 1995

Email: bonnie.kelley@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.521.6419

Dr. Brooke Kelly

 

E. Brooke Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

B.A., University of Florida; M.A and Ph.D., Michigan State University

Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.775.4038

 Lisa Kelly

Lisa Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., Central Arkansas University, M.S., Vanderbilt University, Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: lisa.kelly@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6377

 Dr. Labadie

John Labadie

Professor
Department of Art 

B.A., University of Dayton; M.A., Wright State University; Ed.D., University of  Cincinnati

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003
Dial Award for Research and Creativity: 2009 

Email: john.labadie@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6618

 Tulla Lightfoot

Tulla Lightfoot

Professor and
Coordinator of Undergraduate Art Education
Department of Art

B.A., University of Connecticut, M.F.A., Instituto Allende, M.Ed., Ed.D., Teachers College Columbia University

Email: tulla.lightfoot@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5792

Dr. Mandjiny

 

Siva Mandjiny

Professor and Chair 
Department of Chemistry and Physics

B.Tech., University of Madras, M.Tech., I.I.T., New Delhi, M.Eng., University of Toronto, Ph.D., Universitie de Technologie de Compiegne
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006

Email: siva.mandjiny@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6608

 Cliff Mensah

Cliff Mensah

Associate Professor
Department of Economics and Decisions Sciences

B.S., University of Ghana--Legon; Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: edwin.mensah@uncp.edu
Phone: 910-522.5713 

 Mark Milewicz

Mark Milewicz

Dean of Maynor Honors College and Professor
Department of Political Science

B.A., Jacksonville State University; M.A., Ph.D., The University of Alabama 

Email: mark.milewicz@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6630

 Dr. Normandy

Liz Normandy

Associate Vice Chancellor of Planning and Accreditation and Professor
Academic Affairs

B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., American University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1996 

Email: elizabeth.normandy@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6611

 Mario Paparozzi

Mario Paparozzi

Professor and Chair
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

B.A., Kean College of New Jersey; M.A., Montclair State University; Ph.D., Rutgers University

Email: mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5783

Dr. John Parnell

John Parnell

Professor and Belk Chair 
Department of Managerment, School of Business

BSBA (Marketing), MBA, and MA (Adult Education), East Carolina University; Ed. D., Campbell University,  Ph.D.,  University of Memphis

Adolph Dial Award for Scholarly & Creative Activity at UNC-Pembroke (2005)

Email: john.parnell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6465

 Jesse Peters

Jesse Peters

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages and Department of American Indian Studies 

B.A., Emory University; M.A., Ph.D., University of New Mexico 

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003

Email: peters@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6635

 

Shilpa Pai Regan

Associate Professor
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University

Email: shilpa.pai@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4036

Timothy Ritter

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 & 2009
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2013

Email: tim.ritter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6320

James Robinson

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2008

Email: james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785

 Dr Marilu Santos

Marilu Santos

Professor
Department of Biology

B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of the Philippines

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2002 & 2012

Email: marilu.santos@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6420

 Dr. Stremlau

Rose Stremlau

Associate Professor
Department of History

B.A., University of Illinois; M.A., Ph. D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2009

Email: stremlau@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6317