School of Graduate Studies and Research
School of Graduate Studies and Research

Program Directors - Contact Information

Below is a list of programs of study and program directors. 

(Note:  See chart below for the Master of Arts in Teaching Program and its eight areas of specialization.)

 

PROGRAM DIRECTOR

Art Education, K-12 (M.A.)

 

Dr. Ann Horton-Lopez 
Locklear Hall, Rm. 211 
910.521.6407 
ann.lopez@uncp.edu

Business Administration (M.B.A)

Mr. Nick Arena
Business Administration Rm. 112
Phone: 910.521.6259
nick.arena@uncp.edu

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.A.Ed.)

 

Dr. Ki Byung Chae
Education Center, Rm. 344
910.521.6753
kibyung.chae@uncp.edu

Elementary Education, K-6 (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Karen Stanley
Education Center, room 215B
910.521.6221
karen.stanley@uncp.edu

English Education, 9-12 (M.A.) 

Dr. Roger Ladd 
Dial Humanities Building, Rm. 121 
910.521.6624 
roger.ladd@uncp.edu

Mathematics Education, 9-12 (M.A.)

Dr. Raymond Lee
Oxendine Science Building, Rm. 1229 
910.521.6309 
raymond.lee@uncp.edu

Middle Grades Education, 6-9 M.A.Ed.)

 

Contact content area Program Director

Art - ann.lopez@uncp.edu
English - roger.ladd@uncp.edu
Mathematics - raymond.lee@uncp.edu
Music - valerie.austin@uncp.edu
P. Ed. - tommy.thompson@uncp.edu
Science - rita.hagevik@uncp.edu
Social Studies-scott.billingsley@uncp.edu

Music Education, K-12 (M.A.) 

Dr. Valerie Austin 
Moore Hall, Rm. 136 
910.522.5704 
valerie.austin@uncp.edu

Nursing (M.S.N.)

Dr. Jennifer W. Twaddell PhD, MSN, RN RIBN Director
Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 331 
Phone: 910.775.4142
Email: jennifer.twaddell@uncp.edu

Physical Education, K-12 (M.A.)including: Exercise/Sport Administration

Dr. Tommy Thompson 
Jones PE/Athletic Center, Rm. 1103 
910.521.6220 or 6385
tommy.thompson@uncp.edu

Public Administration (M.P.A.) 

Dr. Michael S. Pennington
Email: michael.pennington@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6386
Office: Business Administration Bldg, Room 236

Reading Education, K-12 (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Heather K. Dial-Sellers 
Education Center, Rm. 133 
910.521.6636 
heather.dial@uncp.edu

School Administration (M.S.A.) 

Dr. Larry Mabe
Education Center 
910.775.4293
larry.mabe@uncp.edu

Professional School Counseling (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Jeffrey Warren
Education Center, Rm. 346
910.5775-4414
jeffrey.warren@uncp.edu

Science Education, 9-12 (M.A.) 

Dr. Rita Hagevik
Oxendine Science Building, Room 2240
910-521-6652; rita.hagevik@uncp.edu

Social Studies Education, 9-12 (M.A.) 
 

Dr. Scott Billingsley 
Dial Humanities Building, Rm. 235 
910.521.6807 
scott.billingsley@uncp.edu

Social Work (M.S.W.)

 

Dr. Sherry Edwards
Health Sciences Building 361E
910.521.6476
sherry.edwards@uncp.edu

 

Master of Arts in Teaching Program (M.A.T.) 

(Note: The eight areas of specialization 
listed below are offered.)

Art Education (K-12) 
English Education (9-12)
Mathematics Education (9-12)
Middle Grades Education (6-9)
Music Education (K-12)
Physical Education (K-12)
Science Education (9-12)
Social Studies Education (9-12)