School of Graduate Studies and Research

Program Directors - Contact Information

"They must often change, who would be constant in happiness or wisdom." Confucius

Program

Director

 Art Education, K-12 (M.A.)

Dr. Ann Horton-Lopez 
Locklear Hall, Rm. 211 
910.521.6407 
ann.lopez@uncp.edu

Business Administration (M.B.A)

Mr. Nick Arena
Business Administration Rm. 112
910.521.6259
nick.arena@uncp.edu

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Ki Byung Chae
Education Center, Rm. 344
910.521.6753
kibyung.chae@uncp.edu

Elementary Education, K-6 (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Karen Stanley
Education Center, room 113
910.521.6221
karen.stanley@uncp.edu

English Education, 9-12 (M.A.)

Dr. Roger Ladd 
Dial Humanities Building, Rm. 121 
910.521.6624 
roger.ladd@uncp.edu

Mathematics Education, 9-12 (M.A.)

Ms. Mary Klinikowski 
Education Center, Rm 112
910.521.6293 
mary.klinikowski@uncp.edu

 Middle Grades Education, 6-9 (M.A.Ed.)

Contact content area Program Director

Art - ann.lopez@uncp.edu
English - roger.ladd@uncp.edu
Mathematics - mary.klinikowski@uncp.edu
Music - valerie.austin@uncp.edu
P. Ed. - tommy.thompson@uncp.edu
Science - rita.hagevik@uncp.edu
Social Studies-scott.billingsley@uncp.edu

Music Education, K-12 (M.A.) 

Dr. Valerie Austin 
Moore Hall, Rm. 136 
910.522.5704 
valerie.austin@uncp.edu

Nursing (M.S.N.)

Dr. Jennifer W. Twaddell
Health Sciences Building; Office 331 
910.775.4142
jennifer.twaddell@uncp.edu

Physical Education, K-12 (M.A.)
including Exercise/Sport Administration

Dr. Tommy Thompson 
Jones PE/Athletic Center, Rm. 1103 
910.521.6220 or 6385
tommy.thompson@uncp.edu

 Public Administration (M.P.A.)

Dr. Michael S. Pennington
Business Administration Bldg, Room 236
910.521.6386
michael.pennington@uncp.edu

Reading Education, K-12 (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Heather K. Dial-Sellers 
Education Center, Rm. 133 
910.521.6636 
heather.dial@uncp.edu

School Administration (M.S.A.)

Dr. Larry Mabe
Education Center 
910.775.4293
larry.mabe@uncp.edu

Professional School Counseling (M.A.Ed.)

Dr. Jeffrey Warren
Education Center, Rm. 346
910.775-4414
jeffrey.warren@uncp.edu

Science Education, 9-12 (M.A.) 

Dr. Rita Hagevik
Oxendine Science Building, Room 2240
910-521-6652; rita.hagevik@uncp.edu

 Social Studies Education, 9-12 (M.A.)
 

Dr. Scott Billingsley 
Dial Humanities Building, Rm. 235 
910.521.6807 
scott.billingsley@uncp.edu

Social Work (M.S.W.)

 

 

Dr. Sherry Edwards
Health Sciences Building 361E
910.521.6476
sherry.edwards@uncp.edu

 Master of Arts in Teaching Program (M.A.T.)

Note: Dr. Roger Ladd serves as the MAT program director working with the content area specialists listed above.  Contact either with questions or go to the MAT websiteThe eight areas of specialization listed below are offered.

Art Education (K-12)  Music Education (K-12)

English Education (9-12) Physical Education (K-12)
Mathematics Education (9-12) Science Education (9-12)
Middle Grades Education (6-9) Social Studies Education (9-12)