Graduate School

Graduate Academic Calendar

The Graduate School caelndar will assist you with planning your schedule.

Additional information and specific deadlines concerning registration, tuition, immunization, and other policies are available on the Registrar's website and on the Controller's website. The Graduate School reserves the right to make any necessary changes to the academic calendar.

Fall 2016 | Spring 2017 | Previous Calendars

Fall Semester 2016

Sat, Aug 13

New Graduate Student Orientation (Annex Assembly Room)

Wed, Aug 17

Fall courses begin

Tues, Aug 23

Last day to drop/add courses

Mon, Sept 5

Labor Day (University Closed)

Sat, Sept 17

Graduate Research & Writing Academy (8 a.m. to 12 p.m., Sampson Hall 134)

Tues, Sept 27

Last day to withdraw from a graduate 1st 8-week course—link to form

Mon, Oct 3

Graduation Applications for May 2017 due

Tues, Oct 4

Last day of 1st 8-week session

Mon, Oct 10

2nd 8-week courses begin

Wed, Oct 12

Last day to add/drop for 2nd 8-week courses

Thur-Sat, Oct 13-15

Fall Break

Wed-Thurs, Oct 19-20

Grad Finale (for students graduating December 9)

Mon, Oct 24

Registration begins for currently enrolled graduate students

Thurs, Nov 18

Last day to withdraw from 15-week graduate courses  link to form

Tues, Nov 22

Last day to withdraw from 2nd 8-week graduate course  link to form

Wed-Fri, Nov 23-25

Wednesday—No classes, offices Open; Thursday and Friday—University Closed for Thanksgiving

Fri, Dec 2

Last day of Fall classes

Mon-Fri, Dec 5-9

Final exams

Fri, Dec 9

 Commencement for School of Graduate Studies and Research (7 pm in GPAC, graduates line up at 6 pm in Auxiliary Gym)


Spring Semester 2017

Saturday, January 7

New Graduate Student Orientation

Monday, January 9

Spring courses begin

Friday, January 13

Last day to add/drop a class Financial Aid Freeze Dates

Monday, January 16

MLK Jr. Day (University closed)

Tuesday, February 7

Immunization deadline

Saturday, February 11

Graduate Research and Writing Academy

Friday, February 24

Last day students may withdraw from an 8 week graduate course

Wednesday, March 1

Graduation applications for December 2017 due

Friday, March 3

Last day of first 8 week session

Monday-Friday March 6-10

Spring Break

Monday, March 13

2nd 8 week courses begin

Wed-Thur March 15-16

Grad Finale

Monday, March 27

Registration for current graduate students

Tuesday, April 4

Graduate Research Symposium

Thursday, April 13

Last day to withdraw from a regular 15 week graduate course

Friday, April 14

Good Friday Holiday/ University Closed

Friday, April 28

Last day of classes

Friday, May 5

Commencement for Graduate School 7:00 p.m.


Previous Graduate Academic Calendar